Prayer for Milwaukee, In Song

Leave a comment

August 16, 2016 by pyaase

In the splits across our country this summer, I had a prayer that sang in my head over and over, a little spinning melody. I recorded a very rough idea of it with my guitar the night before the Milwaukee riots began, not knowing what was about to come. You can find that recording by clicking here, the lyrics are below. When I was at Sherman Park on Sunday, it continued to spin in my head as I met others from all over Milwaukee asking God to heal our city, and our nation, as well as hearing the pain from so many tired of feeling unheard. Sometimes my heart has no words, and many of my prayers include questioning “diddles,” as you see in this one as “la di da”. 


We ask, we plead, we pray, we need.

We ask You God, to dwell among men!
to speak Your peace through your son again!
We ask to see You work your strong might!
We beg You bring an end to this fight, to this fight, la di da di da…


We ask, we plead, we pray, and we need, won’t You come?

Work in mighty ways, and move all our own tries aside!
Only You can work, and heal this lost land!

For we are Your workmanship, please use us now!
Show us Your spirit we’re begging, somehow!

Use our broken hearts, our broken wills,
our broken minds, Lord make them Thine

Your Kingdom come, Your will be done
Your Kingdom come, Your will be done


We say You bring a peace to mankind. Then why is our love so hard to find?
Heal Your Church, Lord heal Your Church, Lord heal Your Bride… La di da di da…


Only You my God, can see all I can not see now
I must trust in You, to guide my steps somehow.
Only You our God, can see all we can not see now
We must trust in You, to guide our steps somehow.


Oh will You quiet my soul? Will you quiet my soul?
Will You quiet my soul in Your love?

la di da di da

Lord please come.

Leave a comment